Adam Klipfel, MD


Annmarie Dunican, MD


Charles Adams, MD


Michael David Connolly, MD

Immediate Past Presidents

Stephen Migliori, MD
Dieter Pohl, MD
Jennifer Gass, MD


Stephanie Noelle Lueckel, MD
Melissa M. Murphy, MD
Gary Gibson Wharton, MD

Hasbro Children’s Hospital

Hale E. Wills, MD

Kent County Hospital

George Cooper, Jr., MD

Landmark Medical Center

Memorial Hospital


The Miriam Hospital

Steven Schechter, MD

Newport Hospital


Rhode Island Hospital

Leslie Roth, MD

Roger Williams Gen. Hospital

Keith Baldwin, DO

South County Hospital

Umberto Capuano, MD

St. Joseph’s Hospital

John A. Phillip, MD

Westerly Hospital
Eric Enquist, MD

VA Hospital

Annmarie Dunican, MD

Women & Infants' Hospital
Jennifer Gass, MD

Vascular Surgery Representative

Thomas Nicholas Carruthers, MD


Dieter Pohl, MD

Alternate Governor

R. James Koness, MD

ACS Fellowship Committee

Marlene Cutitar, MD Chair
William Cioffi, MD
Annemarie Dunican, MD
Jennifer Gass, MD
John Isaac, MD
Dieter Pohl, MD
Joseph Renzulli, MD
Frank Sellke, MD
Michael Vezeridis, MD

Trauma Committee

Charles Adams, MD

Cancer Committee

R. James Koness, MD

Education Committee

Harold J. Wanebo, MD

Association of Women Surgeons Rep

Arlet Gabriele Kurkchubasche, MD

Legislative/Professional Liability Committee

Steven Schechter, MD
Charles Adams, MD

RI Medical Society Council Rep

Charles Adams, MD

About RI ACS 

The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational association of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to improve the quality of care for the surgical patient by setting high standards for surgical education and practice.

Members of the American College of Surgeons are referred to as "Fellows." The letters FACS (Fellow, American College of Surgeons) after a surgeon's name mean that the surgeon's education and training, professional qualifications, surgical competence, and ethical conduct have passed a rigorous evaluation, and have been found to be consistent with the high standards established and demanded by the College.

Chapter Executive
Marc Bialek


Rhode Island Chapter  American College of Surgeons

100 Years of Setting the Quality Standard

est. 1812