est. 1812

APA is proud to announce the 2018 Buprenorphine and Medication-Assisted Treatment (MAT) Train the Trainer (TTT) Program, a new substance use disorder medical education initiative aimed at creating a nation-wide training network of faculty who can meet the substance use disorder needs of their communities. 

APA is currently accepting applications for its 2018 Buprenorphine and MAT Train the Trainer (TTT) program, a SAMHSA-funded, two-day training hosted in Washington, DC. The goal of the TTT program is to create a network of MAT trainers across the country who can educate other providers, increasing the number of available buprenorphine-waivered providers. Funding is available for up to 25 individuals to attend this training.

Applications will be reviewed through a competitive process and priority will be given to those who have experience using MAT, providing medical education, working with District Branches that are part of the APA’s Joint Sponsorship CME program, and working in communities with high need for substance use disorder interventions. 

What is the Buprenorphine and Medication-Assisted Treatment TTT Program?

The Buprenorphine and MAT TTT Program is a two-day training hosted July 2018 in Washington, DC that will offer an in-depth training to providers who are currently prescribing buprenorphine to patients. The TTT program aims to expand the network of local buprenorphine trainers nation-wide, increasing the number of buprenorphine trainings and thus expanding the number of buprenorphine-waivered providers. 

Who is eligible to participate in the Buprenorphine and MAT TTT program?

To participate in the TTT program, participants must meet the following criteria:

Participants must be committed to serving as a buprenorphine trainer in their region
Participants must already have a DEA X-license to prescribe buprenorphine
Participants must have a history of prescribing buprenorphine (two or more years)

Who is NOT eligible to participate in the Buprenorphine and MAT TTT program?

If you have received your buprenorphine waiver within the past two years (between April 1st, 2016 to present), you are not eligible to participate in this program.

When and where will the Buprenorphine and MAT TTT program be held?

The Buprenorphine and MAT TTT program will be held from Friday, July 13th through Saturday, July 14th at APA Headquarters in Washington, DC. APA will provide travel and accommodations for all TTT program participants in accordance with APA travel policies.

How do I apply?

Applications should be submitted online at

All applications must be received by 11:59 PM ET on May 10, 2018.  Admitted applicants will be notified by May 17, 2018. All applicants should receive a decision before the end of May 2018.

 Questions about the application process should be directed to Roke Iko at

Rhode Island Psychiatric Society


Standing Committees

Nominations and Elections

Melissa Ludwig, MD
James Sullivan, MD
Arnaldo Berges, MD
Russell Pet, MD
Michael Silver, MD
Paul Lieberman, MD
James Ingraham, MD

Medical Peer Review


Robert Johnston, MD (Chair)
Paul Lieberman, MD
Laura Levine, MD
Barry Wall, MD
Melissa Ludwig, MD

Continuing Medical Education 

Public Affairs

Louis Marino, MD (Chair)

Law and Legislation
Michael Silver, MD (Chair)
Louisa Skoble, MD 
Alan Gordon, MD
Barry Wall, MD
William Braden, MD
Louis Marino, MD
Marisa Allegra, MD
Patricia Recupero, MD
Paul Lieberman, MD

Robert Johnston, MD (Chair)
Pat Recupero MD 
Patricia Wold MD 
Robert Westlake MD 
Paul E. Sapir MD 
Michael Silver, MD
Colin Harrington, MD
Gregory Fritz, MD
Barry Wall, MD 
Robert Boland, MD
Russell Pet, MD
Lisa Shea, MD
William LaFrance, Jr., MD

Other Committees

Women's Issues


Insurance & Managed Care

William Braden, MD

Rep to Medicare Advisory Committee


Rep to Medicaid Advisory Committee

William Braden, MD

International Affairs

Kazi Salahuddin, MD

Early Career Psychiatrists Committee


About RIPS

The Rhode Island Psychiatric Society (RIPS) is a voluntary, professional association of physicians in Rhode Island who specialize in psychiatry. RIPS has approximately 254 members and is the Rhode Island District Branch of the American Psychiatric Association. In accordance with its stated purposes and mission to promote mental health and the art and science of psychiatry, the RIPS advocates in many forms on public policy matters relating to mental health.

The Rhode Island Psychiatric Society, founded in 1960, is a district branch of the American Psychiatric Association. The American Psychiatric Association is a national medical specialty society, founded in 1944, whose 40,000 physician members specialize in the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of mental illnesses and substance use disorders.


Marc Bialek




Emily Murphy, MD

President Elect

James Ingraham


Kirsten Hull, MD

Past President

Arnaldo Berges, MD


Kazi Salahuddin, MD
Amy Halt, MD
Sarah Schmidhofer, MD
Jack Belkin, MD

Non-voting Members

APA Assembly
Paul B. Lieberman, MD

Deputy Representative to Assembly

Russell Pet, MD

Legislation Representative

Michael Silver, MD

Deputy Legislation Representative 

Luisa Skoble, MD

Public Affairs Representative

Barry W. Wall, MD

Delegate to RIMS

Laura Stanton, MD 

MIT Representative

Elie Aoun, MD

RI Coalition of Mental Health

Melissa Ludwig, MD