About the ​Rhode Island Medical Journal

The Rhode Island Medical Society (RIMS) launched the Rhode Island Medical Journal (RIMJ) as a monthly publication in January 1917 and, except for a brief period during World War I, it has been published continuously since its inception.

In 2013, the Journal, which had assumed other titles in its century-rich history, reverted to its original name and became an online-only, open-access, e-publication.

The Journal’s mission, however, has remained the same as stated by its first editor, Dr. Roland Hammond, 102 years ago: “We wish all the medical interests of the state to collaborate in the production of a journal which shall truly represent the state in reality as it does in name.”

Continuing this proud tradition into the new Millennium, the independent, peer-reviewed, Rhode Island-centric Journal continues to publish original clinical contributions, commentary, Images in Medicine, case reports and presentations, medical literature reviews and letters to the editor.

Through a comprehensive e-distribution network, RIMJ is sent to a diverse audience of healthcare professionals, organizations and academic institutions throughout the state.

RIMJ is indexed in PubMed Central (PMC), the archive of biomedical and life sciences literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). It is also preserved in the Portico Repository.

RIMJ Editors-in-Chief

William Binder, MD, FACEP, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, Clinician Educator, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

Edward Feller, MD, FACP, FACG, Clinical Professor of Medical Sciences, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

est. 1812

William Binder, MD

Edward Feller, MD

Associate Editor
Kenneth S. Korr, MD

Managing Editor
Mary Korr

Graphic Designer
Marianne Migliori

John J. Cronan, MD
James P. Crowley, MD
Edward R. Feller, MD
John P. Fulton, PhD
Peter A. Hollmann, MD
Kenneth S. Korr, MD
Marguerite A. Neill, MD
Frank J. Schaberg, Jr., MD
Lawrence W. Vernaglia, JD, MPH
Newell E. Warde, PhD

Steve DeToy
Sarah Stevens

Editorial Board